Squashed plans for Butternut

The other day I referred to the volunteer plant that was growing and looked to be a butternut squash.

Sadly, the squash that I showed in the post the other day now looks like this:

Spoilt Squash

Spoilt Squash

I’m now established that the plant hasn’t been pollinated. What I’d taken as something growing is just the female part awaiting pollination. It will only grow to actually be something with pollination.

Found this site which matches what I’m seeing:

http://www.pollinator.com/squash.htm

I will have to remove the exclusion bag and give manual pollination a go if I’m to get anywhere with this plant:

http://www.pollinator.com/hand_pollination.htm

Leave a Reply

